How to Maximize Your Lead Volume Within Your Allowable Cost per Lead
Many times marketers running lead generation programs shortchange their lead volume in order to maintain tight controls on their cost per lead. Their fear is that if they roll out media that tested at a cost per lead (CPL) that's just equal to or slightly below their target CPL that a variation in response might put their overall CPL over the top. As a result, they roll out only those media properties that are performing below their target CPL.
This conservative strategy ends up cheating you out of volume that could significantly increase your program's total revenue and positively impact your ROI. The fact is that every well-constructed media test has its big winners as well as its big losers. The trick is to leverage the big winners in a way that allows you to include the "little losers" in the mix and still meet your overall target cost per lead.
With a few simple spreadsheet tricks, you can maximize your lead volume and still hit your target CPL by including media that actually generate higher lead costs than your target CPL! Think about it this way. If your target cost per lead is $15, for every $10 lead you get from a "big winner" media, you can accept a $20 lead from a "little loser."
Let's walk through the simple spreadsheet manipulations you need to manage this process.
Start out with your basic results spreadsheet like Table A that shows your media cost, responses, and cost per response for each media. For this example, we'll look at a 500,000 impressions test (10 properties,
50,000 impressions each, with a roll-out potential of 15 million. The target CPL is $15.
As you can see, the test yielded 700 responses at a cost of $11,425 or a total CPL of $16.32. But there are 7 out of 10 properties that are performing worse than the target CPL of $15.